The Carmelites

The Irish Province of the Order of Carmelites has been present in Ireland since the second half of the thirteenth century and continues to live out its triple charism of contemplative fraternity in the midst of the people.

The Spirit of Elijah.

The Carmelites are a religious order committed to the care and needs of the Church in all five continents of the world. They are the successors of the hermits who lived in the spirit of Elijah on Mount Carmel in Israel.

The words spoken by the prophet form the motto of the Order –

I am filled with zeal for the Lord God of Hosts.

Many people will have heard of Our Lady of Mount Carmel and the Brown Scapular but may not necessarily be sure about the Order of Carmelites for whom the scapular is an integral part of their habit. This website will help people to learn more about what we call “Carmel” and its work, spirituality, saints and so many other areas of Carmelite life.

From what began as a small group of about twenty or thirty hermits living on

Mount Carmel in Israel at the beginning of the thirteenth century, the Order is now present on all five continents through its various branches and affiliated groups.

Further information and reading at

Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Mass Times:

SUNDAYS: First Mass for Sunday: SAT. 6 p.m

8.00, 10.30, 11.30 a.m

12.30 4.00, 7.00 p.m

WEEKDAYS: 8.00, 10.00, 11.30 a.m

1.10, 3.00 p.m

Holy Days: Eve of the Holy Day: 6.00 p.m

8.00, 10.00, 11.30 a.m

1.10, 3.00, 6.00 p.m

BANK HOLIDAYS: 10.00, 11.00 a.m – 12.00 noon.


Daily except Sundays, Holy Days and Bank Holidays

MONDAY to FRIDAY: 10.30 a.m to 11.30 a.m

3.00 p.m to 4.00 p.m

SATURDAYS: 10.00 a.m to 1.00 p.m

2.00 p.m to 4.00 p.m


MONDAYS: 2.30 p.m – Miraculous Medal

TUESDAYS: 8.00 p.m St Jude Devotion

SATURDAYS: 2.30 p.m Our Lady of Mt Carmel


%d bloggers like this: